"But in my head I do everything right" ~ Lorde

This is My Goodbye ~ October Free Choice

So this is goodbye.

 

goodbye to yesterday.

 

goodbye to trying.

goodbye to failing.

 

goodbye to loving.

goodbye to hating.

 

goodbye to longing.

 

goodbye to chance.

 

goodbye to hope.

 

goodbye to all these thoughts.

goodbye to all these words.

 

goodbye to all the roses left outside your door.

 

goodbye to stringing along.

goodbye to not standing tall.

 

goodbye to all the hurt that forced me inside these walls.

 

I am saying goodbye to waiting

for something we knew wouldn’t happen.

 

I am saying goodbye to the balloons

that continued to float away further.

 

I am saying goodbye to the anchor

that forced me down and let me burn.

 

I am saying goodbye to all that I gave

for nothing in return.

 

I am saying goodbye to the hurt

that grew stronger everyday.

 

I am saying goodbye to the lies

that kept the truth locked away.

 

I am saying goodbye to the stories

I continued to convince myself with.

 

I am saying goodbye to forgiving

for all the things I never did.

 

Because I know now.

 

I know now that there is a world out there

that won’t push me aside and let me freeze in its winter.

 

I know now that there is a soul out there

that will not let mine quiver.

 

I know now that there is atmosphere out there

that will not hold down my breath nor dig me a grave.

 

I know now that there is a sky out there

that will allow me to soar with its wind for days.

 

I know that I am enough.

 

I know that I am worth a lot more than you let me believe.

I know that there is so much I deserve to achieve.

 

I know that I am stronger than the hurt you placed in my way.

I know that I can love without giving it away.

 

I know that I am not the one to blame for this fire.

I know that you were always the only liar.

 

I know that I can finally look into your eyes.

I know that I can finally smile from within and rise.

 

So this is me smiling at all your hate.

And this is me rising above all the weight.

 

This is me saying it to your face.

 

That,

 

This is my goodbye to you.

 

This is my goodbye to us.

 

 

 

 

 

« »